Jan 8, 2016

Happy Children’s Day in Thailand!!!

When I was young, I looked to every of the second week of January which is the children’s day. My parents will take me and my sister to many places like an army base, or many places that held the activities. Free ice-cream and snacks were my favorite part of the day. Couldn’t believe that it was so long time ago!!

Today I spent my day reading the article in the result part. The most interesting part is how the authors came up with the four categories. They didn’t think about it at the first time but the categories were based on the answer from two questions at Phase I. The answers of the first question which is “what is the primary aspect of the system that change strategy seeks to directly impact? are individuals, and environments and structures. For the second question–to what extent is the intended outcome for the individual or environment known in advance?, the answers are prescribed and emergent. Honestly, I am not really understand this questions and the answers.

However, the authors created the four-square typology of change strategies. The categories were individual/prescribed, individual/emergent, environment and structure/prescribed, and environment and structure/emergent. After that they defined each categories and came up with the name of what they were focusing in each categories.

– individual/prescribed   –> Disseminating: Curriculum and Pedagogy         – individual/emergent  –> Developing : Reflective Teachers                             – environment and structure/prescribed –> Enacting : Policy                         – environment and structure/emergent  –> Developing : Share and Vision

When I read just only the methods, I thought that the procedures would be something different. But the results made a clearer picture of how they came up with the four categories. I believe that what I have learnt today will be beneficial and I could apply it on my research.

Have a great night!!!

One thought on “Jan 8, 2016

  1. jeremilondon says:

    Glad to see you got a chance to read the article. I think this might serve as a good framework for analyzing the data on the researchers’ perceptions of impact. I was planning to talk more about it with you when we meet one-on-one.

    Like

Leave a comment