Oct 8, 2016

Happy Fall Break!

In the last meeting, I was assigned to work on the impact of RED proposal. After getting all materials, I started to analyze the data and code using thematic analysis. The initial coding is holistic coding which I will code the ideas into phrases or sentences as a whole. The data was interesting. I felt like the language the interviewees said is not like what I usually said. It makes a little bit harder to understand what they actually mean. The cracks in transcriptions also make a little harder to get the idea. After I listen to the audio, I do understand why it couldn’t be transcribed. 🙂

However, I am happy that I could find patterns emerging from the data. I could say that this made my day. Here are samples of the patterns I found:

What motivated them to request RED proposal?

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-9-42-49-pm

I code one question at the time and make a code tree at the time to prevent the confusion. The code tree above is a theme for the question about the motivation. Lastly, I have a question about the due date for a conference paper. Since I think I might take it longer than I expected for coding because the way they talk is a little bit hard for me to understand the idea. When should the data analysis be done?

Have a good night 🙂

2 thoughts on “Oct 8, 2016

  1. JSLondon says:

    Looks like you’re off to a great start. In terms of a timeline, let’s aim for coding over three weeks– one week for each of the major sections of the interview. So, let’s see where things are at the end of October for the coding. It might be easier to meet one-on-one to talk about the analysis that seems a little tough to understand. If you’d prefer to do this sooner rather than later, we can schedule a 1-1 for right after you’ve finished the first section of coding (and repeat this for each of the three sections). For now, just make a note of the quotes or interview responses that you want to revisit when we meet. As for the ASEE abstract, don’t worry about it. After thinking more about this, I think it might better to just go for the journal paper on this one and not do a conference paper at all. So, let’s aim to have the analysis finished by the end of October, and we could aim for a draft of the journal paper by the end of the semester (or something like that). Let me know your thoughts on this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

